Meet your neighbor: Marianne Fulton

Marianne Fulton, holding certificate, was recognized for 10 years of service to the town during the Oct. 19 meeting of the Queen Creek Town Council. With her are, from left, Councilman Craig Barnes, Mayor Gail Barney, Councilman Robin Benning and Councilwoman Emilena Turley. (Wendy Miller/Independent Newspapers)

Marianne Fulton, holding certificate, was recognized for 10 years of service to the town during the Oct. 19 meeting of the Queen Creek Town Council. (Wendy Miller/Independent Newspapers)

Name:  Marianne Fulton

Age: 51

Town/Neighborhood:  Meridian subdivision in Queen Creek.

When & why I moved here: My husband and I moved our family to Queen Creek in 2001. We wanted to return to the east Valley and liked the remote location of the town yet the ability to still be near creature comforts and family.

What I like most about living here: The close-knit, family-centered environment where almost everyone cares about our town.

What I do: First and foremost, I am a wife and mother. Nothing is more important than taking care of my family. For the past 10 years I have been employed as the customer service coordinator in the Queen Creek Parks and Recreation department. I register citizens in town recreation programs and reserve town fields and facilities to citizens and teams. I greet each and every person who walks through my door in hope of helping them have a great day.

What I like most about what I do: I like seeing the families enjoy their experiences here at the Recreation Annex as well as at town events and parks.

Changes I would like to see in the area: We are a growing town and experiencing many growing pains. I would like to see citizens try and understand how much effort that goes into making this a great town to live in. I would love to see more people involved in that process as well.

Favorite community cause and why: This is an area where my husband and I keep private. We prefer to be the anonymous gift-giver than to have everyone know.

My family: My husband, Gary, and I have been married for 29 years this December. We have two children — Elijah, 18, and Miranda, 16 — and three dogs. We have extended family here in town as well as many friends who we consider part of our family.

Interest & hobbies: I love watching my kids play soccer. They are great players (I know I am biased though). I am involved in anything else they do as well, whether it be school activities or the clubs they participate in. As for me, I like to read and watch movies and just chill out at home with my husband.

The traits I admire in others: That would be being a person of your word and willingness to assist with solving a problem, not just complaining about it.

People of inspire me and how: That would be my parents. They taught me to be involved and know what is going on in my community. They also taught me honesty and integrity.

My guiding philosophy: Do justly, love mercy, walk humbly. Walk by faith, not by sight.

You are encouraged to leave relevant comments but engaging in personal attacks, threats, online bullying or commercial spam will not be allowed. All comments should remain within the bounds of fair play and civility. (You can disagree with others courteously, without being disagreeable.) Feel free to express yourself but keep an open mind toward finding value in what others say. To report abuse or spam, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box.